The Federal Republic
of Nepal
Nepal
Contact
Your support
Activities
The association

Contrasts. In two worlds.

The democratic federal republic of Nepal is a country between two worlds. Modern, open and ambitious on the one hand; on the other hand it is still shaped by the influence of the caste system that makes it appear limiting and sometimes reactionary.

The recent political developments have brought dramatic change: during the past 20 years Nepal has changed from an absolutist monarchy to a democratic federal republic. On 28 May 2008 the republic was established, on 28 August 2011 the current prime minister was elected. It is expected that the new constitution will be adopted in 2012.

In this environment, the Nepalese caste system seems to be a limiting constant: For almost 2000 years it has divided the population into acceptable higher caste members and “untouchables”. This is an anachronism that seems to contradict the country’s current political evolution.

Thus, Nepal is a nation unlike any other on the Asian continent – it has its own specific characteristics: contrasts in two worlds. These characteristics make it worthwhile for visitors to form their own view of the current situation and future developments.

Join us on the next pages to find out more about the country and the people who live here.

Arriving in Nepal
Travelling around Nepal
The country

denk.   Contact   |  Impressum (legal details)   |  data confidentiality statement   |    < back to welcome page

Die Bundesrepublik ...
... Nepal
Nepal
Kontakt
Ihr Engagement
Aktivitäten
Der Verein

Kontraste. In zwei Welten.

Unter dem pragmatisch anmutenden Wahlspruch „Das Mutterland ist mehr wert als das Königreich des Himmels“ vermittelt die Demokratische Bundesrepublik Nepal ein Bild eines Staates zwischen zwei Welten. Die eine ist modern, aufstrebend, offen – und die andere bleibt dem Kastenwesen verschrieben, wirkt dadurch beschränkend und rückwärtsgewandt.

Die politische Entwicklung ist dynamisch – was hier allerdings keinen Euphemismus für eine schwierige Lage darstellt, sondern anerkennend zu verstehen ist: über die letzten 20 Jahre hat sich Nepal von einer absolutistischen Monarchie zu einer demokratischen Bundesrepublik gewandelt. Am 28. Mai 2008 wurde die Republik ausgerufen, am 28. August 2011 erfolgte die Wahl des derzeitigen Premierministers. Die Annahme der neuen Verfassung wird für 2012 erwartet.

Das nepalesische Kastensystem dagegen scheint eine beschränkende Konstante zu sein: seit fast 2000 Jahren teilt es die Bevölkerung in Akzeptierte und Unberührbare. Ein Anachronismus, der im Widerspruch zur gegenwärtigen politischen Entwicklung des Landes zu stehen scheint.

Nepal also ist keine Nation wie jede andere auf dem asiatischen Kontinent – sie hat ihre ganz eigenen Gegebenheiten: Kontraste in zwei Welten. Charakteristika, die es rechtfertigen, sich ein Bild der gegenwärtigen Situation zu machen und die zukünftige Entwicklung zu verfolgen.

Auf den nächsten Seiten möchten wir Sie einladen, sich Lust und Laune auf dieses Vorhaben zu machen.

Ankunft in Nepal
Fortbewegung im Land
Die Vielfalt des Landes

denk.   Kontakt   |  Impressum   |  Datenschutz   |    < Zurück zum Inhaltsraum